UltravioletPhotography

Entomology grad student eager to learn about flower UV!

Ella J. Branham

Ella J. Branham

Hello! My name is Ella J. Branham and I grew up in Utah. I absolutly love the desert and the mountains. My favorite passtimes there are to rock hound, look for insects, and just explore outdoors. I just recently moved to Mississippi and I am continuing exploring by looking for aligators, salamanders, insects, and snapping turtles. I have come to love Mississippi, but Utah will always be my favorite place!

I am a new graduate student working on my masters degree at the University of Southern Mississippi. I am going to be traveling to Puerto Rico during the summer months to research mosquito nectar feeding on flowers. I am interested if mosquitoes prefer flowers with certain kinds of UV reflection patterns. I am new to UV photography and as such I am excited to participate and learn more. I am currently writting up my "game plan" for Puerto Rico and as such I am doing a lot of investigating and happened upon this awesome community. 

I definitly have lots of questions regarding UV and how to interpret photos taken with UV, i.e., how to determine if one flower is more or less UV reflective than another flower. I may reach out to some of you fine people and ask some questions! Thanks for having me! :DIMG20230620094922.jpg.9bf5d1d20a660292c7a1a848b3706bd6.jpg

dabateman

Reflectance is a good question.  One that might not be able to be solved with a camera.

You may want to see if you can borrow or if you have the budget for a JAZ portable usb type spectrometer.

https://www.oceaninsight.com/globalassets/catalog-blocks-and-images/manuals--instruction-ocean-optics/spectrometer/jazinstallationandoperation.pdf

I bought a used one years ago and it might solve that problem with the correct probe and light source. 

Hi Ella,

A warm welcome to UVP!

I really like your picture, even if I hate mosquitos.