UltravioletPhotography

Hello

Rhabdophane

Rhabdophane

Hi,

Name's Tom, from the UK. I work in the contaminated land sector and for a recent project we were interested in doing some UV fluorescence photography. Certain types of contamination will fluoresce under 254 nm UV light so we wanted to get a visual distribution of pollution. We managed to cobble something together but it wasn't a very refined setup, so I've joined here to try and learn a bit more and see how we can improve things for future projects.

I also enjoy photography as a hobby so am quite interested in learning a bit more about UV photography in general.

Anyway, I'll have a poke around the forum and will get around to posting some more technical questions at some point.

colinbm

WARNING UV light is dangerous to living tissue including you !

UV excited visible fluorescence photography is relatively easy. you just need an off the shelf digital camera & a Zeiss T* UV blocking filter.
https://www.zeiss.com/content/dam/consumer-products/downloads/photography/datasheets/en/filter/datasheet-zeiss-uv-filter-en.pdf

UV comes in different wavelengths from say 200nm to 400nm, aka UVC 200nm - 280nm, UVB 280nm - 315nm, UVA 315nm - 400nm.
I don't know what the material is that you are looking for, but some materials react best to one or more of these bands of UV A, B or C.
Having UV lights of different bands will help you decide which are best.

Color Gems in the Netherlands has a great & powerful range of hand held UV torches & larger lights for searching over a larger area.
https://www.colorgems.nl/
The web pages are in dual languages, Dutch & English.

Andy Perrin