UltravioletPhotography

Glad to be here

moondigger

Hello everybody.

I'm Russ, but usually go by "moondigger" on Internet forums.* I've been an avid hobbyist photographer for the past 36 years. I've had a few paid jobs (mostly as favors to friends or acquaintances), but it's not my career. (I felt early on that making photography my career would take the joy out of it.) My photographic subjects are diverse -- people (formal and candid), street, architecture, and other subjects. But landscape/nature photography is what I spend more time on than any other.

For the past 15 years or so, I've been exploring near-infrared and infrared photography. My work in infrared has been almost exclusively landscape/nature. I have an old Canon 20D converted with a 665 nm filter, and a Canon 5D Mk 2 with a 590 nm filter. I also have 720 nm and 850 nm lens filters, though I've found that I prefer the flexibility the 590 nm filter gives me, even when my final product is black and white.

I've been lurking here for a few weeks, gathering information in anticipation of trying out UV-bandpass photography for the first time. (I'm having an EOS-R body converted to full spectrum.) These forums have been an excellent source of information on this topic, and I appreciate the tenor of discourse I found here.

I plan to be an active participant, though I suspect my participation will be a bit sporadic during the winter. I live in an area that averages over 100 inches (2.5 meters) of snow each winter, so many of the subjects I'm most interested in shooting in UV light will be covered up.

I would post a sample image of one of my infrared landscapes here, but the ones I have on this particular computer are all stitched panoramas, much higher resolution than the posting guidelines recommend. I may be able to post something later this evening when I get back to my primary photography computer.

Thank you for a wonderful resource; I'm very glad to be a member here.