UltravioletPhotography

Saying Hi! from Estonia

Foxfire

Hello!

I've been exploring the site since before COVID-19, but it took years for me to figure out the username i like, so thanks for accepting my request to finally join here. 

Shortly, my interest into the topic began probably by seeing some images of flowers photographed in reflected UV. What was fascinating was the difference in the appearance of floral patterns compared to how they look like in visible light. The general idea of how things appear outside the visible spectrum has made me to experiment also with infrared photography, and thermography. Also i like to go out and search for fluorescent things with the UV flashlight.

My background is biology related (natural sciences), but occasionally i also do light related things in theaters, concerts and outdoor festivals. Maybe the alternate light photography is somehow a link between these. 

I find the UVP forum a great source and much helpful for getting started and learning about ultraviolet photography. Here are valuable information about the transmission spectra of lenses, gear, filters etc. Thank you all for sharing and doing it! Hopefully i manage to add something interesting too.  

As of my first image here, i will add a composite picture of a type of pumpkin (variety of Cucurbita). It's an approximate sum of what i've done so far. In this composite, if you want you can try to guess the part of the spectrum for each pumpkin or how the image was acquired. The description matrix is below.

image.png.109258ec0f902edc1f2ced1ea2c12b56.png

Correspondingly: 
UV (Baader U), visible, IR 665, IR 720, 
IR 850, IR 950, IR 950 (no WB), thermal, 
UViF, UViIRF (665), UViIRF (720), IR720+850+950 RGB stack

All images, except thermal, photographed with unmodified Nikon D5500 and AF-P DX Nikkor 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6G VR kit lens. Thermal image with InfiRay DV DL13 thermal camera.

Exposure times vary around 10-30 seconds, ISO 100 or higher