UltravioletPhotography

How to do UV Induced Infrared Fluorescence

Grabbed some pistachios after work and decided to try UVIIF. I was kind of tired and things didn't go as well as expected. First mistake was using stock Pentax 645z. Hey, it works great for UVIVF, so why not here? Because it takes a very long exposure to force enough IR thru the stock sensor filter. Will use full spectrum camera next time.

There are other questions.

1. Using Nemo torch or Adaptalux UV arms Is it enough to use a 25 red or Hoya 72 filter on the camera lens? Or is the Tiffen Haze 2E also needed to block UV?

2. Does my custom IR landscape white balance work here? This isn't vital since I shoot Raw, but nice to get in the ballpark. 

Thanks,

Doug A

I can give a few answers based on real facts, even if I have very little personal experience of UVIVF or UVIIF.

The Nemo torch is much more powerful than the Adaptalux arms. I had a discussion with the Adaptalux designer about that.

However the square distance rule is always valid. ( the optical power is reduced to 1/4 when the distance increases by 1/2 )

Close enough the Adaptalux arms might be enough.

The reason for stacking a Tiffen filter in front of any ionic long pass filter is to block UV.

Most ionic longpass filter materials have their own fluorescence and exposed with enough UV power they might add some unwanted light to the recorded image.

I have just seen that filter fluorescence looking at them and have no idea if they shine in NIR too.

Often the back scattered UV light from the motif is not bright enough, but it is good to know about it.

You can see the same material fluorescence in several accidental lenses usable for UV photography.

One of them is the EL-Nikkor 80mm old metal type. Several of it's lens elements becomes hazy whitish of fluorescence under an UV-torch.

Hope some of my answers are of use.

BUT! there are very well made fake copies out there, that look very good, but do not cut UV.