UltravioletPhotography

Manor courtyard in Svaty Jur

Unscenerie

Upscale hotel and dining on a hill to vineyards.

Sony A7 + Soligor 35/3.5

1: IR 

2 and 3: UV with UVROptics NIR blocker + ZWB1 4mm from UVROptics

3: darktable, white-balanced on lit wall

This is my first time posting pictures with a 4mm thick ZWB1 I received from UVROptics. 

My impression is that the combination of NIR blocker (3.00mm thick) + ZWB1 (4mm) does a good job of blocking wavelengths other than UV, and the exposure time seems comparable to a Chinese equivalent. I feel like there's an extra glow to the new picture. I am getting to like this new setup. I might wanna rear-mount the filters to combat vignetting.

_DSC7982xlo.jpg.b8d722d5924b9dda50cb4006f780f782.jpg

_DSC7983clo.jpg.26da03d4afd6b36a6a5c8346336578b5.jpg

_DSC7983_02.jpg.66e0059b45607abeaa72eb1379749665.jpg

Rear mounting filters changes the optical path length making the lens focus beyond infinity. 

That that can be compensated by placing the lens further out.

A rear mounted filter stack of 7mm total thickness will need a substantial shift of some mm. 

It's important to know that rear mounting filters needs to be compensated with extra space. I'll keep it in mind.

@colinbm The IR one, the arch on the left is a window with a reflection of foliage. The window is see-through with the naked eye.

I'm excited to have an IR blocker (NIR blocker from UVROptics) that can potentially let me see deeper (into the UV-B maybe?). I've only had experience with TSN575 as an IR blocker, and I enjoyed it, but my next question with be, will the pictures look different?

Andy Perrin

Ulf found that the NIR blocker from UVROptics was not especially great compared to known alternatives like S8612 2mm. It will definitely NOT let you see UV-B. If you read the existing threads on UV-B then you will see that to get there requires a monochrome sensor and a lot of filtration designed for UV-B specifically.