UltravioletPhotography

Hello from a tropical biologist

Lou Jost

As a long-time reader of this forum, I'm excited to join the community officially. I am a  biologist based in Ecuador, and my specialty is botany though I also have strong interests in birds and insects.  I co-founded a conservation organization, Fundacion EcoMinga (www.ecomingafoundation.wordpress.com), to investigate biodiversity hotspots and protect them by direct purchase. We currently have a system of thirteen reserves, providing endless opportunities for discovery!

I use photography for my scientific work and for fun, especially extreme macro photography. I have many focus-stacking set-ups and use a wide variety of techniques. I also use IR photography for vegetation, landscapes, and nebulae, and I am just beginning to use UV for flowers and hopefully astrophotography. I use UV extensively for fluorescence photography, including IR fluorescence.

I have a diverse set of older lenses, from  very old Apo-Nikkor reproduction lenses and the 6x7cm format Apo-Sekors to exotics like the Printing Nikkor,  Repro-Nikkor, and Hasselblad Superachromat. Sadly I do not have any dedicated UV lenses, except for an unusual one=of-a-kind 248nm UV photolithography lens. I also have a very diverse assortment of second-hand microscope objectives, including fluorite ones.

I look forward to learning from the great experts here, and hopefully contributing information about some subjects (especially extreme macro).

Lou Jost

Welcome Lou
You have hit a right note with me, I have spent a few years setting-up for UVIVF, UV induced visible fluorescence, with lights from Far UVC 222nm up to Near IR 940nm.
About the same time I learnt about 'Structural Colour' & I have been setting up, with a lot of help from forum members, to photograph the structure of iridescent beetles & butterflies.