UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Santa Cruz, California

Pete Nelson

Pete Nelson

Hi: Thanks for letting me join; I'd like to introduce myself briefly...

I'm a marine scientist who's previously worked on UV vision and UV physiological ecology
in fishes (mostly coral reef species). I haven't worked on UV
biology in nearly 20 years but a new project on juvenile Chinook salmon
includes a component where UV photography may be quite important. To be frank,

my primary motivation for joining is the hope that I may get some help in

determining some reasonable options for pursuing this aspect of my project. Hopefully

I'll be able to contribute though too!

Cheers, Pete Nelson

Most welcome to UVP and given your history and experience, your contributions are eagerly awaited 😀

Many moons ago I did spectral underwater profiling, from UV to near IR. Most of our inland water had very low UV penetration, except for a few highly acified lakes. Inland waters of the deep forests on the border between Norway and Sweden went the opposite direction and had highest transmittance in deep red and NIR.

Welcome. 

Feel free to ask any question.  You may also be more help than you realize.  Not many of us work under water, but some whom have passed through have. I haven't yet even taken a photo under water,  even though one of the first cameras I ever bought was to do just that back in 2007. It just didn't work out. I still have the underwear housing, but maybe not the camera.

I will be interested in seeing your images. 

Welcome Pete! 

I can't help with anything for underwater, but would sure like to see and maybe learn some things about it.

Andy Perrin

Hi! Nice to meet you! Are you doing underwater UV reflectography or UV fluorescence pics? 

Pete Nelson