UltravioletPhotography

Filter Transmission Chart: UVROptics MidMostU

dancingcat

@Doug A Reed at UVROptics said a couple of weeks or so to me.  I had ordered his SEU ultraviolet bandpass filter (353BP61). but he said that he is not making it any more due to a problem with the availability of the glass involved.  I don't know what glass he is using in the new version, but he ought to explain when it gets up on his website.  As soon as it comes I'll shoot with it and post.

Let me know whatall folks would like me to use as test subjects.. as I'm a rookie with this.  I have plenty of dandelions around but not much else in the way of flowers blooming now.

Dandelions are good for testing IR leakage because the center should be very black if there is no leak. A muddy or lighter center would suggest some leakage. To be honest I'm sure Reed would have tested it carefully anyway, but since leakage depends on the light source spectrum very critically, you will need to establish what circumstances you can use the filter with no additional blocking and which ones require extra blocking. Testing with sunlight vs. flash for example.

A more systematic way to check for leaks is to take two photos, one with the UV filter/stack to be tested, and one with the same filter/stack plus a long pass filter (e.g. Hoya R72 for IR or a Tiffen 12 if you think there might be visible leakage) using the exact same exposure settings and lighting. Edit both photos identically. If the first photo is normally exposed, then the second photo SHOULD be all black, provided there is no leakage.

@Suethanks for the added info. Dandelions are a good start. There are lots of their pictures, with every filter imaginable, on this site to compare to.

Looking forward to your post,

Doug A

Actually the blackness in UV of the center can vary for different Dandelions.