UltravioletPhotography

uv/ir cut filter for rookie

dancingcat

Howdy all and Happy Thanksgiving to those in US…

I am a rookie here and my Olympus Em1mk2 full spectrum conversion is on its way back to me from Kolarvision.

The advice here seems to be to use a stack of Hoya U360 2mm + Schott S8612 2mm for UV.   Need to verify with you if that’s right - this is for botanicals.

Also what do you recommend for cutting out the UV and IR so I can do work in just the visible?

I plan to start with the Olympus lenses I have now, but will probably need to go lens searching down the road.

Thanks for everyone’s help to a noob.

The best UVIR cut choice on the IR end of things is Schott BG38 2mm, and on the UV end of things the Zeiss T* UV cut filter. These must be stacked together to cut both ends. Of the two, the BG38 is more important to the color balance, and the Zeiss just reduces flare with the coatings and takes away some of the UV haze effect. (It would also be important if you are doing any fluorescence work.) So if you are picking just a single filter, the BG38 2mm should be your choice, but ideally you use both. 

That said, every camera is slightly different and some need more or less IR blocking, so Cadmium has suggested BG40 as an alternative to BG38 if the latter isn't pleasing enough.

--

You should AVOID the Hoya UVIR cut filters, because they let a lot of UV through and don't cut IR enough either. I think Kolari's filter is okay but it's basically just BG38 - it will let a lot of UV through.

--

The advice here seems to be to use a stack of Hoya U360 2mm + Schott S8612 2mm for UV.   Need to verify with you if that’s right - this is for botanicals.

That is right.

If you're a rookie, you could just get a BG39 2mm and a ZWB2 2mm from Tangsinuo as your stack. I use it and there's no leakage, worked very well for me so far.

As a starter UV lens I recommend the Industar 50-2, it's very cheap, reasonably sharp, and has a reasonable reach.