UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Ohio, USA

H3AdBaBY

Hello everyone,

My name is John, I'm a graphic designer and photographer from Stow, Ohio, USA.

I experimented with Infrared B&W film in the late ‘70’s but it wasn’t until I got my first digital DSLR that I resumed photographing in Infrared. Using an optically opaque lIR lens filter was an exercise in frustration and eventually I obtained a Nikon D70 converted to 830nm. I’ve since become interested in UV photography and just recently converted another D70 to Full Spectrum.

The past several years I’ve been very with a major house renovation. Doing 90% of the work myself has left very little time for photography but late this year I began capturing macro photos of the insects in my garden and posting them to Instagram  https://www.instagram.com/john_david_fawcett/

As a result of my fascination with insects and knowing they see an oftentimes much different world than humans I decided to try and incorporate “bug vision” into my macro photos. I began researching “bee vision” and UVIVF photography and quickly ended up on this site.

So far I've only begun initial testing with the full spectrum camera. I still need to adjust the focus, and I’m researching UV light sources. So far I’ve taken a few shots outdoors at dusk and a few with a “black light” flashlight. Unfortunately the flashlight emits a fair amount of visible purple light along with the UV but it was still a fun experiment.

I have much to learn so I’d best get to reading all the forum posts. I’m sure I’ll even have a silly question or two but hopefully I’ll end up with some photos to share with everyone.

Carpe Diem!

CE463068-462F-4053-AD61-AC09FC866D7D.jpeg

Welcome to UVP. Glad you made the journey .... "Silly questions" ??? never heard of them. Only silly answers and they are notably absent from our friendly site.