UltravioletPhotography

Spectrophotometer for doing my own tests - what equipment to use?

CharlesS

So, let’s say one actually does have at least a little bit of spectroscopy experience (I studied physical chemistry in college) and I wanted to do my own spectral measurements of lenses and filters… what equipment would I need to find?  Thirty years ago, it was straightforward to use off-the-shelf equipment to examine and plot spectra of fluid filled cuvettes, but it’s clear that different sample handling is required for testing glass.  If I wanted to try to source used lab equipment (from eBay, for instance) that would allow me to generate plots and convey the data to a computer, what equipment should I look for?   Thanks…

Ulf and Jonathan will know best, of course, but here is what I have picked up:

1) lenses are MUCH harder to test than filters. For lenses, you need to be gathering light from all directions, which means one of those integrating spheres I think?

2) Ocean Optics spectrometers seem to be the go-to around here.

3) You need light sources that cover the range that you want to test in. No one light source does it all.

4) There are many many pitfalls of interpretation in doing your own measurements, and if you read back over the history of this board, you can find some doozies. It's MUCH harder than it looks. You seem to be imagining that it's as simple as popping a lens or filter into a device, like those Perkins-somebodyelse spectrophotometers you find in college chem labs, but it's harder than that because of things like cross-talk, light leakage, noisy measurements, etc. A classic example being the "broken R72 filter" in this thread, which ultimately turned out to be the same spectrometry error made by BOTH Ulf and Jonathan. There is a learning curve here!

Ulf ultimately explained the mystery here if you want to skip to the conclusion.