UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Ottawa, Canada

Germain Wiseman

Germain Wiseman

Hello from Ottawa, Canada!

I do VIS, UVF, NIR, FCIR, VIL imaging as well as numerous types of computational imaging. I have not done ultraviolet reflectance photography, but am working to create a UV setup with a modified Phase One IQ3 digital back. I am experimenting with a Nikon EL 80mm lens and a Rodenstock Rodagon 150mm lens. My main interest in this type of imaging is it's application with cultural heritage objects; specifically imaging used to support conservation treatments.

If anyone has experience and guidance with UV imaging using Phase One systems, I would be very grateful.

Thanks

Andy Perrin
That looks like a very cool camera indeed. (Which I have no experience with — I use a modified Sony A7S.) I do computational imaging using MATLAB, purely for fun, and I've done quite a bit of experimentation with principal/independent component analysis-type methods and blind source separation, and fourier methods for removing repeated patterns.

Nikon EL 80mm and Nikon EL 105mm of the older metal version are good lenses to start with, as they are designed for medium format film and also transmit UV relatively well.

I have no idea how well the Rodagon is transmitting UV.

Welcome to our friendly corner of the cyberspace. We all share our insights gained in the various aspects of "invisible light" photography and try to help each other all along. UV with PhaseOne digital back, now that sounds tantalising. I'm sure all our members would love to learn more of your progress there.
  • 2 months later...

Hello Germain and welcome to UVP!

I have never had yet a member using a modified Phase One digital back! Wow! They are far too expensive for our typical member. So it would be very, very interesting to all of us to see some reflected UV photos from this camera.

specifically imaging used to support conservation treatments