UltravioletPhotography

Here's a question for you

Andrea B.

True, some of those old longer focal length lenses have good UV transmission, but then who uses longer lenses for UV? Right? Seldom, if ever do I use a long lens for UV.

So then the question becomes, what typically used 'normal' focal length lenses have larger than 52mm filter thread size?

Older or newer. I have no experience or knowledge of any of the newer typical lenses that are being used with mirror-less cameras. Some are barely good for UV, from what I gather,

but I have no idea what filter thread they have, all smaller than 52mm I believe?

Just wondering if there are any lenses out there that people are actually using for UV that have larger than 52mm filter threads.

Well the answer for me is not for UV. I typically use 25mm filters for UV.

Its IR that my typically filter size is 72mm.

The older Novoflex Noflexar 400mm and 600mm has two versions AFAIK. Mine are 77mm, but there were some 75mm too.

The more modern C-Griff and D-Griff types has internal slot mounted filters. I can check the thread of the adapter if you want to know.

Th reason I brought up the question is sometimes the question will be this:

"Are there UV filters for 82mm...?

My answer is something like this:

"I don't know of any good UV transmitting lenses that have larger filters threads. Are you sure your lens will work good for UV?"

In other words, select a UV capable lens first, and then you will know what filter size to look for. No need picking out a large filter size and paying twice as much money for something that is only going to work well on a lens with a smaller thread.

Of course, if you're going to be shooting with a 400mm lens with a larger thread size... then... but honestly, how many times have we done that?

It is usually more like a 35mm to 100mm lens, and many are smaller than 52mm, like the enlarger lenses even.

I will shut up now and let the topic return to norbal.