UltravioletPhotography

Suggestions for my Next step

Hi,

I have been shooting UV-r with my Nikon D70 for several years now, and while it has brought me through my learing curve I am now looking to step up to a more capable camera. I know there are a number of things to consider in making the choice, and I'm hoping you can help me with my decision.

Here are the top factors/questions I'm considering:

• Must be Nikon (or in the very least, Nikon mount - to accept my current lenses)
  • Should it be Live View enabled? (to enable PC tethered shooting, focus braketing, etc)
  • CCD or CMOS sensor? (what is the difference in spectral sensitivity? does Nikon only use one of these types?)
  • UV sensitivity! (of course)
  • Resolution (anything higher than my current D70 would be nice)
  • Cost (I have bills to pay too, you know)

My plan is to get whichever is best, and then send it to be converted to full spectrum. Though it would be nice to be able to just get it in full spectrum form in the first place.

So, if anyone has any inside info to share (e.g., spectral sensitivity curves <400 nM for Nikon cameras,...), that would be great. Also, your own opinions and experiences as well!

Thanks,

- Mark

I think this is a lot like buying any camera.

I have used both the Fuji IS Pro and the D3100, both do a great job. The 3100 has more pixels and lower noise at high ISO. The Fuji has more dynamic range and a better build (as well as no dust as it is factory converted)

If it was me, I'd get what you can with your budget, and what you need.

The higher you go in the Nikon ranges 3xxx 5xxx 7xxx the more features you get, the newer cameras do better at high ISO and have more dynamic range.

If you want to strike a balance between cost and performance, I like the look of the D5300 but there are obviously cheaper options like the 3100 I have and higher end choices like the D610 or D810 for all out quality.