UltravioletPhotography

Colorchecker Passport in Solar UV

rfcurry

John,

Our erstwhile Northern Bear has spent quite some time testing the CopperU. His feedback has been absolutely invaluable. Tomorrow I am sending him the latest, and probably definitive, version for testing.

Concerning the release of the CopperU: I expect to offer the CustomU in 52mm threaded mount for sale on my website on 3/14. I have been working on the CopperU, off and on, for four years. I think you will like this filter.

Here is the MSDS for CuSO4 -- http://www.sciencelab.com/msds.php?msdsId=9923597

It is used to treat swimming pools against algae, as well as aquariums, so you have probably encountered it. It is even sold in children's chemistry sets. The lowest dose to have a toxic impact on humans is 11g/kg. Basically, it is safe, though exposure can irritate the skin.

The amount of CuSO4 in solution used in my filters is only about 6.50 ml (0.44 tablespoons). The filter is very robust, however, and breakage is not likely.

Thanks, Reed. Good to know this stuff. :D

John, thanks also for the Fotozones link.

Which reminds me that I've wondered if there is any easy way to index topics & posts to provide links. I suppose if it had been done on an on-going basis it would be easy enough to keep such a link list going. But to wade through so many Fotozones posts now seems daunting.

I wanted to try again to shoot the CC Passport with my GH1. But the sun which was out this morning for about 5 minutes has once again gone away. The cam is all set up and ready to go when I get a chance.

SOMETIMES I AM SO DIM-WITTED !!!!!!! :wacko: :blink: :D

For cryin' out loud I was setting the white balance on my GH1 incorrectly because I was triggering the shutter instead of the WB button during the process. I should have immediately known I was doing something wrong when I didn't get the perfect blues in the shot that I was complaining about above in Post #22.