UltravioletPhotography

Anyone using Sony A7 series for UV

A Stranger In The Wind

A Stranger In The Wind

I am wondering if anyone has had a Sony A7 series converted as a Full Spectrum camera for shooting UV. I am toying with the idea of converting my A7s to full spectrum once I receive my new A7s MKII.

I mainly use my current A7s for video shooting, and would like to do some UV and IR videography. I have no problem shooting IR video on my converted 5D MKIIs as I can easily shoot at 1/60 at 29.97fps but UV is a different issue. Given that on color photos I often shoot upto ISO 10000 on the A7s and with my Canon I usually stop at ISO 3200 I am exploring to the possibility of converting the A7s to full spectrum for UV video.

I have no personal experience with this series--though I have heard that the A7s II is the best low-light camera out there, with a sensor gain dial that goes up to something like 1,000,000+ (!) On the other hand, these new cameras with pellicle mirrors are different from SLRs in one important way: the mirror is a permanent part of the optical train and cannot be removed, even for a conversion. Some of the other products do not have a pellicle mirror, but have a hot mirror that is integral with the sensor, i.e. it is not removable. What the UV-transmitting properties of these elements are, I cannot say. I myself have long lusted for something that could render starry skies/star trails in UV, which in some ways might be seen as a similar challenge (needs at least 6400 in the visible, and heaven knows what through a Baader.) So I say you have a chance at it, if UV can actually get to the sensor.

There is certainly no problem with any of the Sony sensors when it comes to recording UV. Most of my converted Nikons have had Sony sensors.