UltravioletPhotography

Posts I'd Like To See :)

Timber

Hi,

I can't state enough how much I love this site for the information it provides. It really shows all the expertise, enthusiasm and energy that you guys put in this site. Thank you :D

As I am a total beginner in this field, and I believe compared to most of the people, who are having way more insight and knowledge in the world of ultraviolet spectrum, I am kinda like an UV-Hippie :D I do love to shoot in UV but many times I feel like I have no idea of what I am doing :D

The one thing I found a little hard about this site is it requires a great amount of technical knowledge. I am missing a post for the absolute beginners. For example at UV Fauna it says: "Please do not use artificial UV illumination (flashes, LEDs) in such a way as to harm animal and insect eyes.". Which is a really good thing as I am often pissed off when at Zoo people just shoot the poor animals with flash and I can just imagine how much it annoys them, but I do believe most people does not realize the harm a flash can make... But one thing came to my mind reading this note is if I don't have the knowledge of it how can avoid the harm? Like how a led UV light can do any harm? For the average person (like me) a LED light seems absolutely harmless, we have 100 LED video lights used for long periods of time... so it didn't even cross my mind that in the UV spectrum it could make any harm (I have a 54 LED UV light). Or a Black Light bulb sold on E-Bay... I got 2 of them that I used for some of the self portraits before, and got skin rashes, similar to sunburn by the evening, especially at the part where I have vitiligo (nothing serious) as I was holding them quite close to have enough light at some point... at least now I have nice tanned face :)