UltravioletPhotography

Ciao!

Anfy

Hello,

I am a photographer and photo-illustrator from Rome, Italy.

My site is scurochiaro.com (warning! Subsections contain nudity and what can be possibily considered (3D- fantasy) graphic images).

I am a passionate animal rights activist and actively promote a vegan lifestyle.

I am interested in UV photography for human (and pets) portraiture only.

As to this simulated (with a b&w conversion filter for raster graphic manipulation software) test picture:

post-59-0-55294800-1407025930.jpg

I own, as a basic kit to start with UV photography, an unmodified Nikon D70, a Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 AI-S (similar to the Series E one), a Nikon 35mm f/2.5 Series E, Baader U (Venus) filter 2" and some other cameras (mostly mirrorless - unmodified as well), lenses and accessories, mainly led (ring) lights.

Preliminary tests show somewhat disappointing results: I am able to achieve slow shutter speeds only (say, 1/6 of a second in a fully sunny day), even at f/1.8 or f/2.5, so something must be wrong in my camera/lens/filter/lighting chain; or in my technique. We will see!

Ciao!

Andrea Festa (please remember that A. is a masculine given name in Italy).

post-59-0-55294800-1407025930.jpg

Welcome to UVP!

2 issues: unmodified D70 probably loses 1-2 EV compared to cameras without internal hotmirror.

Then lenses also. Series E might transmit some UV, but I am guessing much less than EL NIkkor enlarge lens.

I was able to do a portrait a few days back, at about 1/30 sec exposure at ISO 800 (I have to check) with my modified DMC-G5 camera and UG11+S8612 filters and El Nikkor 80mm.

Thank you!

I was a bit puzzled since further tests with my 360 leds ring light gave me perfectly dark frames; then I tried an "old" Yongnuo 560 EX flash and - bingo! - I was able to achieve acceptable results. Now I am managing the best way to put two or three of them on a bracket, as I saw in Damon's thread:

http://www.ultraviol...26-damons-gear/ .