UltravioletPhotography

Jolly Roger

Jolly Roger

Jolly Roger

Just to introduce myself. I am a professional video journalist working in the woodworking field, but one of my interests is chicken keeping and I do some journalistic work for poultry magazines. I am currently researching how birds see, hence my recent interest in UV photography. Have just sent off an older camera body to be converted so have a tremendous amount to learn. I am afraid that I shall be a 'taker' rather than a 'giver' on this learned site, but I look forward to my involvement.

Cheers,

Alan

Any alternative aspect of UV photography is highly welcomed here, so have no fears. Even the most advanced member has started at scratch some time in the past.
Hello Alan and welcome to UVP. We are happy to try to help out any way we can. :D

Have just sent off an older camera body to be converted so have a tremendous amount to learn. I am afraid that I shall be a 'taker' rather than a 'giver' on this learned site, but I look forward to my involvement.

Alan, Welcome!

I, myself, knew absolutely nothing of the field of UV photography - heck, not even anything about alternative-spectrum work, altogether (UV, IR, or otherwise) - just 3 years ago.

In three years time, I went from complete ignorance to some ignorance. Haha. :D

Now, I am at least doing UV (and IR) photography on a "working man's budget", and getting satisfying-enough results for the time being.

Believe me when I say, that the learning curve is not that steep, once you gain the fundamental knowledge of how UV-pass filters (or UV-pass / IR-blocking stacks) work, how to set "proper" white-balancing schemes for maximum color diversity within a UV image, and basic set-up in terms of sufficient-enough lenses for the job, exposure times, optimized aperture settings (to mitigate or reduce "focus shift"), camera stabilization techniques, and general post-processing / editing.