UltravioletPhotography

Bill DeJager

Bill De Jager

Bill De Jager

Hello everyone,

I’m very pleased to join this community. This site is exciting and I look forward to learning a lot.

My wife and I live in northern California. I’ve been an amateur botanist since age 14, with a focus on plants of California and western North America. Beyond plants, I’m an amateur geographer and traveler of the western U.S. My photographic experience consisted of very early exposure and enthusiasm followed by decades of stagnation, and more recently by an effort to develop better skills.

Ultraviolet and infrared photography have interested me for a number of years, and I put in a fair amount of time around 6-7 years ago in researching the technology and techniques. Unfortunately, my early and brief efforts on film didn’t work out that well (IR) and were a total failure (UV). Then I promptly damaged my expensive UV filter. Other photographic interests took priority for a time with respect to both time and money, and I postponed further work with UV and IR though I still planned to return someday.

During the following years I slowly accumulated old Pentax M42, Nikkor, and Pentax 67 lenses that might work for UV photography, in anticipation of eventually trying UV again on B&W film or getting a digital camera converted. The prospects of getting a UV-Nikkor or a Coast Optics APO macro seemed remote, but I developed a stable of old and (mostly) cheap lenses where I might find a few gems when the time came to test them.