UltravioletPhotography

Panasonic Lumix S1R Conversion: An Exploration

Andrea B.

The title of this topic should be "Fumble Along with Me" while I try to figure out this camera yet once again. I started learning about a year ago but then I got side-tracked with other efforts and situations.

Today I began again and took 4 filters and the S1R out to my kitchen patio and simply tried to figure out whether or not the sensor was good enough to "see through" some typical UV/IR filters.

Camera: S1R Conversion

Lens: Kuribayashi K.C. Petri Orrikor 35mm f/3.5 Lens

• Aperture Mode @ f/11.
  • A somewhat random white balance, so please excuse me this time for the fact that I forgot to record how I made it!
  • Framing: 16:9, one of my favorites.
  • Viewfinder only focus. I didn't use the monitor to set these snapshots because it was too bright outdoors.
  • Focus peaking: ON, yellow, 0 sensitivity (the baseline setting).
  • These are handheld shots.
  • The JPG inside the RW2 raw file was extracted in Photo Mechanic.
  • No edits were made to these JPGs.

Observation: Yes, I could "see through" these filters in the viewfinder at f/11. So, wow! I did rotate the Kuri pre-set ring to open to better see through the 4mm thick U-340, no surprise that made it better.

Observation: Even though I could see through the filters, the S1R focus peaking worked wonderfully well and is a great aid.

Observation: The S1R batteries do not last very long. Carry 2 or 3 with you when shooting.

Observation: The S1R is heavier than some cameras. I find that steadying, but YMMV. The S1R also has stabilization which is a very good thing methinks for our dark filters.

The JPG size is 1920 x 1280. Click photo to enlarge.

B+W 092 IR-Pass Filter

I really do like this photo in its current false colors. "-)

1/160" @ ISO-100

s1r_ir092_sun_20210728laSecuela_2178.jpg

Baader UV/IR-Cut Filter