UltravioletPhotography

Need help with obtaining UniWB for a Nikon D40

I have been using UniWB settings since about 2004 for all my digital cameras over the years (Nikon D70, D200, D300, D500, D700, D800, D810 and D850). I have never had a problem building the UniWB reference target from scratch on the computer.

A project i am working on requires the use of an unmodified Nikon D40 with a UniWB reference. I cannot get the D40 to capture a pre-WB shot of my target, which is often referred to as "wine" colour, being a reddish purple. No matter what I do, the D40 will not accept the captured image of the "wine" target as a WB. This is a standard procedure that has worked for every other Nikon I have owned for the past 16 years.

Has anyone here ever successfully produced a UniWB for the Nikon D40 and if so would you be prepared to provide a copy to me?

Thanks

I've had that problem. I then lightened the magenta/wine target and got a WB. This causes possibly more iterations.

I'm looking for a link which might have a downloadable file. Stay tuned.

Added a few minutes later: http://www.guillermo...wb/index_en.htm

Guillermo has a downloadable D40 file. Go to the link and scroll down.

Side Note: I think Darktable (free, open source) can tell you what the RGB multipliers for iterations are if you don't want to use command line Dcraw.

Thanks Andrea, I had already been there but that is a 40D Canon UWB, not Nikon D40.

Did you have this trouble with a D40 or another model?

I already tried the "lightening " of the target, but didn't seem to help.

Sorry about that! I did not pay attention to the extension. Red face.

I had the problem with another model but I don't remember which one.

Write to Iliah.

Added: Did you try the blowout method? Against bright light shoot exposure long enough to blow out all channels then check multipliers?