UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Ontario

Doppler9000

Doppler9000

I have been shooting digital IR for 20 years, on and off.

I am going to have a camera converted to full spectrum, and looking forward to shooting in UV.

Hello! I'm glad to see a new member. How much do you already know about UV photography?
Doppler9000

Hello! I'm glad to see a new member. How much do you already know about UV photography?

I have read quite a bit here, but am still at the beginning of my learning.

I need to get a lens or two, and will be digging in on lenses that will cover a 55mm diagonal at infinity. I am assuming that may include a 105mm+ Nikkor El lens?

I have read quite a bit here, but am still at the beginning of my learning.

I need to get a lens or two, and will be digging in on lenses that will cover a 55mm diagonal at infinity. I am assuming that may include a 105mm+ Nikkor El lens?

I'm not sure whether it has big enough coverage but the Industar 50-2 is a great starter UV lens.

Doppler9000

The metal 105mm EL-Nikkor has good coverage.

Are there specific versions of the 105mm that are more desirable for UV?

The 80mm EL-Nikkors are covering Ø100mm.

There are two versions with metal cases that are OK for UV:

https://www.ultravioletphotography.com/content/index.php/topic/4280-nikon-80mm-f56-el-nikkor-nippon-kogaku-japan/

https://www.ultravioletphotography.com/content/index.php/topic/4279-nikon-80mm-f56-el-nikkor-old-metal-version/

As they are enlarger lenses they need to be mounted on helicoids for focussing.

Andy's comment above is slightly incorrect as it is the case that is metal, not a focus ring.

enricosavazzi
[...]

The El Nikkor 105 mm old style (= metal barrel) according to Nikon literature covers 65 x 90 mm, while the 80 mm old style "only" covers 56 x 72 mm. This means image circle diameters of roughly 110 vs 91 mm, so both lenses should amply cover your requirements.