UltravioletPhotography

Flow visualization by Background-Oriented Schlieren imaging

Andy Perrin

Andy Perrin

By rights, this topic doesn't really belong on UVP, which is why I'm sticking it in the chat room, but I have a feeling many people here will be interested in it, because it's about another kind of invisible imaging.

I've been working for several years with a Ph.D. student in Florida who is building a large scale wind tunnel for imitating thunderstorm downbursts over models of medium-sized buildings. The problem he has is how to visualize the flow over these models in a wind tunnel the size of small warehouse. Currently he is doing a smoke based system, but it occurred to me that another way would be to put pieces of black tape at various places on the model and heat them with spotlights or small lasers, then visualize the refractive index changes in the air as it flows. The imaging of refractive index gradients has a long history in fluid mechanics and is known as Schlieren imaging. It is usually done with large parabolic mirrors, but a new kind of computational Schlieren called Background-Oriented Schlieren has recently come of age, and it is extremely simple to do, as I will demonstrate below.

The basic idea is that you take your warm object that is making the hot air currents and you place it in front of a large screen of randomly placed dots. Small changes in refractive index caused by warming the air make the dots "dance" on the background. Prior to placing the warm object in the scene, you take a "tare" image of just the screen with the dots, and then you can use special programs that use image correlations to determine how far each background dot has moved. The final output is then shown as a grayscale image where the amount of left-right movement of the dots is coded as a shade of gray (or sometimes a false color).