UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Switzerland/France

AlanBradford

AlanBradford

I am a photographer working in Analog and Digital with over 50 years experience of Darkroom silver gelatine work.

I also work in Alt Photo printing, hence the UV interest for the 365-370 nm range in particular.

I am looking at ways to use projection of UV light to print Platinum/Palladium print using high intensity UV LED panels, with the main difficulties being the blocking of UV by most glass lenses, and iI am particularly interested in lens constructions using Calcium fluoride or similar non blocking UV materials.

Hoping I can learn more about UV from your group, and hopefully find some like minded experimenters to share ideas.

Alan

Welcome indeed to the UVP community. We appreciate the growing interest in all things UV (or outside the visible spectrum) and the proliferation of techniques is exciting to learn for all of us.
Andy Perrin
None of us are lens designers although a few people have the quartz fluorite lens elements in their lenses. There has been some experimenting with quartz singlets on the forum but nobody has tried to correct one!

So far the best I have made is a 35mm and 110mm fused silica lenses with each 3 elements. The distance between the elements is critical to avoid significant chromatic aberrations, at least in visible light. Also the aperture ring control should be as close to the rear of the main group.

My 110mm has the 3 elements on front of the aperture ring. My 35mm has 2 in front and one behind.

You can also make a simple ball lens with a concave element in front (cave on ball) of a lens ball. Mine is a bit soft, but I like the super shallow dreamy look. Its a 50mm concave element in front of a 40mm in diameter K9 ball. It passed all light above 300nm. The lens balls are really cheap.