UltravioletPhotography

Ultraviolet Photography Beginners Questions

Fred

Dear community,

i am new to Infrared photography and i would love to experiment with ultraviolet photography outdoors and in a studio-enviroment (especially with portraits). I have started to google a little bit and found a list of necessary tools like a super expensive KolariVisionFilter, special lenses and modified flashes. I am afraid of spending a lot of money for tools that arent necessary, overpriced or do not give me a clear advantage imagewise.

I wanted to ask you whether you could help me to set up an affordable combination.

I currently own a full spectrum modified Sony A6000, Sony Zeiss 55mm 1,8 and Canon EF-S 10-18mm, and one Hoya R72 Filter. I also own plenty of other Canon EF, Sony E and Pentax lenses, but i guess those arent suitable for IR or Ultraviolet.

thank you !

cheers,

Oliver

You may be OK for IR. The problem would be hot spots at some focal lengths and apertures - you probably just need to try the various lenses to see how they go.

UV is more of a problem. You'll need a filter - the standard general purpose filters are the Baader U, and a sandwich of a UV transmitter (like Hoya U340) and an IR blocker (like an S8612). But you'll find more than you ever want to know about UV filters on this forum.

In terms of lens, you'll get images of somesort with your lenses, but better to go for a known UV-friendly UV lens. Again, lots of advice and discussion on this forum. My favourites are Cassar S 50mm f/2.8, Leitz Focotar-2 (the -2 is important) 50mm f/4.5, El Nikkor (metal) 80mm f/5.6, and El Nikkor (metal) 105mm f/5.6.

Be aware that UV exposure times are a lot longer than for IR or vis. If you use flash, you'll need to remove the plastic lenses which absorb UV.

I'm sure you'll be bombarded with helpful advice from forum members.

Advice:

1) read everything here on the forum :cool:

or