UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Oregon, USA

alan_b

Hi everyone, glad to find this corner of the web!

I'm an architectural photographer by trade, and play with IR for fun. Currently using a wide-spectrum converted D800, mostly for black & white IR of industrial and human-altered landscapes.

I've also been experimenting with a Kolari IR Chrome filter, but discovering that dual-spectrum imaging is challenging my lenses. That's what lead me here in the quest for learning more about that. Another experiment I have yet to get around to is blue end of visible + UV -> black & white, looking for a response similar to wet-plate processes.

Cheers,

Alan

I never 'welcome people' on here, but since no one else did, and since you live in my state, I welcome you. :smile:

I don't know about wet-plate. Someone else will need to talk about that.

Welcome to UVP, a friendly and peaceful corner of the photographic cyberspace.

There are certainly lots of options and filters to emulate the ancient spectral response of non-panchromatic films. Filter discussions and charts are plentiful here on UVP.

The wet plate look I think is being simulated with either a Bg25 or BG3 filter and isolating the blue channel response using 4channels software from libraw or other channel specific software.

It will be interesting to see your results. I have only read one blog post about simulating wet plate look, without seeing too many people doing it.

This was the post:

http://www.philwarrenphotography.com/recreating-1850s-vintage-photography-and-ir/

Andy Perrin

The Warren page was quite interesting although I noticed that he ignores the effects of camera gain in UV. That would need to be considered as a next step since the film response extended almost to 330 nm without much falloff.

Probably that would not matter so much for sunshine (in wet plate or digital) but I wonder what the spectrum of flash powder was?