UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Maryland

winginit

Hello, I’m a hobbyist beekeeper in Maryland, with no prior experience of UV photography. I do have some experience with pollen photography and microscopy.

My goal is to create a local floral index, to bring out the hidden floral guides in flowers that are often only revealed within the ultraviolet spectrum, and to incorporate this perspective into educational talks for the public.

For a camera, I am considering a Nikon D70. It appears to be one of the easier cameras to access and remove the IR/UV filter. It’s also inexpensive, so a botched first attempt won’t be devastating. I’ve not begun looking at lenses, I will need to cut off the spectrum at 650nm and above, as that extends beyond the visual range of the honey bee.

So, here I am, looking forward to getting started.

Welcome to UVP, I am sure you will get all your answers here. Good luck with your project & show your progress here please.

Hello,

I too live in Maryland.

The filters that capture UV and block above 650nm would be the 2mm BG39 and 2mm S8612. The latter allows more UV.

A Nikon D70 can work. But you may want a more modern camera with live view for focusing in UV.

If you want cheap and aren't afraid to program. The Raspberry pi hq camera with a board would be the cheapest option and works without any modification. You just need to customize your own python script.

The IR blocking filter allows UV and blocks above 700nm.

Otherwise I recommend an Olympus camera. Which also have weak UV blocking and can use almost any lens.

• 2 weeks later...

Thank you both for the welcome and advice. After some time of swishing my big toe in the pool, I’ve stepped in by procuring some equipment to get started. David, your posts were immensely helpful, as well as those by Andrea, Pedro and others. A big thank you to Steve for the beautiful floral photos. My chosen filter stack is derived from his Bee Vision examples.