UltravioletPhotography

[IR] False-colour IR Ektachrome: The Early Days

nfoto

My first encounter with "False-color IR Ektachrome IE 2443" was at the very end of the '60s, when I was an intern for aquatic botany at one of the research institutes in Oslo. I was already deeply involved in, and committed to, photography at the time. Thus, when the question of mapping of aquatic vegetation came up in connection with one of our projects, I stuck my head out and brazenly declared "why not use aerial photography with IR film?". Almost nobody had heard of this high-tech invention at that time and I was given a green light to commence with a pilot study. That involved hiring a small aircraft, finding a pilot willing to fly low enough under my command, deciding what exposure to use, and finally, finding a lab qualified to run the film in E-4 chemicals. What I didn't think of beforehand, but soon became apparent, was the need for myself as the photographer to combat any trace of airsickness. Which was easier said than done when we were only a few 100 m up. Suffice it to say I really did suffer for the footage brought back. Oh yes.

Anyway, I evidently got enough examples to convince the higher authorities of granting more money for the upcoming years. Thus started my relationship with false-coloured film, which I should like to add, had much nicer colour rendition than what garish outcome we today present as "Aerochrome". But that's a topic for another day.

Most of the images from those days went into project files inaccessible to me now, or got lost during later upheavals in my civil life.

The photos below are a reminder to me of those glorious days. Airsickness is thankfully forgotten by now although that took some time to overcome.

D758520471.jpg

D690755233.jpg

D760807000.jpg

D765551216.jpg

H75851577.jpg

All images with Nikon F (or later, F2) and 55/3.5 Micro-Nikkor or 85 mm f/1.8 Nikkor-HC. Filtration Wratten K12, development process E-4.