UltravioletPhotography

New to using a Godox AD 200 Flash

colinbm

I now have a Godox AD 200 flash unit....but.....I am very new to using a flash unit....:-(

I see there are many posts on improving the flash unit for UV output ?

Many question for a newby....

Do I need a trigger unit to mount on the Hot Shoe, I will be first using the flash with a Lumix DMC G3 that is converted to full spectrum ?

Secondly I want to use the flash unit with my Sigma Foveon cameras too.

Can I have a list of what I need to use the flash unit with these cameras & to make it UV friendly Please ?

At the moment I am overwhelmed..........

Cheers

Col

Hopefully other will chime in to help you.

I don't have any Godox flashes. But I do like to use the PC sync port to control flashes. Just saw that the Ad200 has a 3.5mm port. So for the Sigma cameras you can control it from the PC sync terminal using a cable with the 3.5mm end (newer cables).

The G3 doesn't look to have a PC sync port. So you can add one with Wein safe sync, which is a $50 thing that you slide into the top flash shoe. Or read the reviews to see which wireless transmitter will work. The pin layout of my Panasonic Gm5 matches Canon products. But your G3 looks different. So check to see what people have used.

Should be fun new toy to play with.

enricosavazzi

For operation in manual power setting (set on the AD 200 unit), any remote (wired or wireless) that sits on the hot shoe of the camera will work. This includes cables with hot shoe male contact at one end and sync plug at the other end. For wireless, the transmitter and receiver need of course to be compatible with each other. The receiver also needs to be connected to the sync socket of the AD 200. Receivers equipped with a hot shoe socket for use with speedlights are not directly compatible with the AD 200, unless they also have a sync cable socket output.