UltravioletPhotography

Corona Discharge at a Power Distribution Station in the Daylight.

WiSi-Testpilot

WiSi-Testpilot

Since I started playing with UV photography I have been looking for corona discharges. Looking through pictures from last summer, I found some. First I thought it were reflexes.

I will try it again.

Sony Alpha 6000, Pancake Lens SEL16F28, Baader U-Filter, Daylight (12:37, lunchtime), F/3.2, 1/60 S, ISO 320.

Best regards,

Wilhelm

post-210-0-61021800-1580167170.jpg

post-210-0-15765600-1580167188.jpg

post-210-0-05209100-1580167208.jpg

post-210-0-72281300-1580167231.jpg

I think it is just sunlight being reflected off the glass glaze on the ceramic insulators.

There is also some kind of reflection off other things in the photo, not sure what those are made of or not.

I second this. One would not expect corona discharges off an insulator stack--that makes no sense. These are specular reflections; in the middle frame they are distorted by lens coma. Corona discharge is usually photographed below 280 nm, whereas you are lucky to get fown to 340 with the kind of lens/filter combination you used here.

Try again on a cloudy day. Or if you can at night. Then for sure it would be from the lines and not the sun.

I may have to see if I can see anything in low UV from my near by station. I just don't like the idea of standing outside for too long with a tripod. People around here are jumpy and might think I was up to something on the power lines.

These are reflections off the insulator with a healthy amount of lens coma added.

Repeat your photography at night time, preferably on a cloudy night with *no* rain . But probably won't show much as one probably needs resolving the deeper end of UV to show the discharges.

WiSi-Testpilot

Thank you very much for your answers.

Today I cycled to our neighboring town of Stadtlohn to the Power Distribution Station. It is located at a former railway line, which is now used as a bicycle path.