UltravioletPhotography

Hi from Italy

Stefano

Hi, my name is Stefano, I am 18 years old, I live in Italy and I have been photographing outside the visible spectrum since I was 16. It all started "randomly". My phone has a normal camera with an IR-block filter, but it is weak enough that a significant amount of IR light can pass through it. So, out of curiosity, I started playing with a TV remote, and I managed to use it for illumination. I also discovered that I can see a remote LED, if I stare directly at it in the dark. Probably my first photo made using only IR light was one showing a book, and I also shot a visible version of it, for comparison. I took it on April 27th, 2018.

First NIR photograph "with illumination" (without filters). Camera: SM-A510F (Samsung Galaxy A5 2016 rear camera), f/1.9, ISO 800, 1/8 s exposure, 4 mm focal length.

Illumination source: TV remote LED (probably at 940 nm).

post-284-0-86462800-1576773470.jpg

Visible version, f/1.9, ISO 125, 1/476 s exposure, 4 mm focal length.

post-284-0-38986300-1576773481.jpg

Then, experimenting with stuff, I accidentaly discovered that the black ink of a marker pen was completely transparent in the NIR. I wanted to see how different colors of marker pen ink looked like in the infrared, and I couldn't see anything. They were invisible. So I made a very "raw" filter with a plastic container, water and black ink. It wasn't perfect at all, the images were a bit distorted because the container wasn't flat, but it worked. I now could shoot infrared outside, just 3 days after I shot my first infrared photo.

First NIR photograph of the external world. Camera: SM-A510F (same as before), f/1.9, ISO 125, 1/8 s exposure, 4 mm focal length. Black ink filter.

post-284-0-81787900-1576773489.jpg

Of course this is not the best photo I have, it is simply the wery first I took.