•  

My work

Fluorescence
60 replies to this topic

#41 Cadmium

• Members+G
  • 4,141 posts

Posted 20 November 2019 - 22:35

Black, so that one is blue? Is it made of some other type of material, just a difference color perhaps?
I have no experience with 3D printing. :blink: :smile:

#42 JCDowdy

JCDowdy

• Members
  • 1,183 posts

Posted 21 November 2019 - 14:47

Cadmium,
I think the blue one you are referring to is an onscreen 3D computer rendering.

#43 UlfW

Ulf W

• Members+G
  • 1,567 posts

Posted 21 November 2019 - 15:49

View PostBernard Foot, on 20 November 2019 - 20:50, said:

The 3rd shot is a photograph of the flash tube itself. Exposure was ISO 100, f/8. There's very little visible leakage, bearing in mind the extreme brightness of the tube. (You can see that there is a crack in the filter, but I doubt that this was leaking enough visible light to account for the dramatic difference in the first shot.)

So I really don't know what to think. Because of the third shot I'm tending to think there is little leakage. Any other opinions?

You can always force some light through one of these filters, but the intensity here is very low and will only be disturbing with an extremely low intensity of the fluorescence.

A good filter to put on the camera to eliminate more of the UV is a Tiffen Haze 2A. It is cutting the UV quite well.
It do not have any fluorescence in the filter-material, in the same way as the expensive and now obsolete KV-series of laminated filters from Schott.
The GG-type glasses from Schott have fluorescence.
Ulf Wilhelmson
Curious and trying to see the invisible.

#44 Craigk79

• Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 10 December 2019 - 05:52

https://www.youtube....6e1v4y1Z2Ft_ZKU

#45 UlfW

Ulf W

• Members+G
  • 1,567 posts

Posted 10 December 2019 - 07:31

View PostCadmium, on 18 November 2019 - 18:04, said: