UltravioletPhotography

Kolari Vision Hot Mirror Filter (UV/IR cut) vs S8612

bsas

So, I am studying those IR cut filters and thinking which one is better for UV.

S8612:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Schott-S8612-58mm-x-2mm-UV-IR-Cut-Filter-Visual-Bandpass-IR-Suppression/293120993582

s-l1600.jpg

Kolari:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Kolari-Vision-58mm-Kolari-Vision-Color-Correcting-Hot-Mirror-Filter-UV-IR-cut/290869671163

composite.png

According to the graphs, the S8612 is 10% better for UV trasmission. But, did anyone ever tested both side by side since the price difference is huge (one is double the price of the other)?

Thanks!

S8612 passes UV very well, and while it is an excellent IR cutter, it’s NOT a good filter to restore a converted camera for visible light photos because it does not attenuate red light well enough. Our camera sensors are very sensitive to red and the whole image will be biased toward red if you don’t reduce it. The best Scott filter glass for the purpose is 2mm BG38.

I’m not sure how Kolari will compare to 2mm BG38.

If you search the forum, I am pretty sure Cadmium has mentioned what the Kolari filter is equal to. Either a Bg38, Bg39 or Bg40.

We only really have 4 options. The Bg61 series isn't as good, and more expensive.

If you search the forum, I am pretty sure Cadmium has mentioned what the Kolari filter is equal to. Either a Bg38, Bg39 or Bg40.

We only really have 4 options. The Bg61 series isn't as good, and more expensive.

So, is the S8612 so much better then the BG38, BG39 and BG40 (if Kolari is similar to those) for UV, and if it is, how much better?

I really don't care about "restore my camera" hot mirror since I have a regular camera for regular photos. I am just trying to find the best/cheap filter or stack for my money with high transmission :(

Ans sorry, I tried but I cannot find details about the Kolari filter on the sticky filter thread.