UltravioletPhotography

New member and new to full spectrum photography

residentbrit

residentbrit

Hello,

My name is Phillip, I am from Sacramento, California, I am totally new to this subject, I have just sent in one of my cameras, Canon 60D for full spectrum conversion, it'll prob be a week or so until I get it back.

I am keen to experiment using it for nature, wildlife, portraits, general still life.

I have a selection of EF and EF-S lenses but I gather most "recent" lenses have some form of UV coating on one or more of the elements. I do also have some older lenses that I got on ebay and had used with the m42 to canon mount converter, I'm wondering if they might work for full spectrum photography.

I'll look around the forum to see what other people are using, looking forward to contributing.

Thanks,

Welcome to the forum Phillip!

I am also using an EOS 60D and it woks fine for my style of UV-photography, even if it is a bit noisy at higher ISOs.

Most modern lenses have both coatings and are built with much glass that is blocking UV.

Please see the Lens sticky for UV-capable lenses:

https://www.ultravioletphotography.com/content/index.php/topic/1654-sticky-uv-capable-lenses/

You need some filter to block Visual and IR-light to be able to take UV-pictures.

If things are done right chlorophyll and foliage is very dark in UV, totally opposite to what you see in IR-images.

Be prepared for much longer exposure times in UV than visual light. (300-1000x)

Hi Phillip and welcome to UVP! I hope you enjoy the site and find lots of good information. We have a Lens Sticky in the reference section which contains lists of lenses that members have found useful for UV, IR or multispectral photography. You can also use the UV Lens search tag for more info.

(Side Note: I lived over in Davis for a couple of years and greatly enjoyed that part of Northern California. Sacramento's Old Town area should be a cool place for some UV, IR or Multispectral photography.)