UltravioletPhotography

Hello, my name is Tony and I am happy to meet you

Tony Grover

Tony Grover

I just joined this group / blog because you all seem to be the deepest files on the subject of UV photography and I would guess you are also very capable in the adaptation of photography gear to meet your needs and interests.

I have been shooting avidly for many years and have been drawn over time to the completely acceptable to me, older and more interesting gear. This may have started in the last year, when I diverted from buying ever new F-mount Nikon gear to investing in a used D4 and then an even more used, but by no means beyond its' lifetime, D4S. I then, in a mixture of anxiety, anticipation, glee and curiosity picked up a late 1990's vintage 400mm f2.8 Nikkor ED AF-I lens. Wow. I love the lens and what I can do with it.

On a recent trip to kayak and photograph in the NW corner of Glacier National Park, I was walking a grizzly bear infested, rumored anyway, trail and talking with my partner, about how birds saw the world. She asked if there was some way we could see the world through their eyes. Since most birds see to a greater or lesser degree in UV, I answered that I would look int it.

I am sure many of you can pick up the story from here. I have bought some old Nikon enlarger lenses. 80mm and 105mm. Also got a PB-4 bellows and after reading this and other web=sites, got the right rings and such to hook it all up and last week acquired an interesting visible light image using my D7100. So, as a result of that pleasant experience, I sent the D7100 off to Life Pixel to get converted to UV. I should have it back in a week or two.

I am very much wading in the shallow end of the pool right now, but am determined to understand and get interesting natural subject photos in the UV spectrum.

I have a few thousand photos on flickr here, if any of you are at all curious about my style and such. https://www.flickr.c...hotos/awg_pics/