UltravioletPhotography

equipement rental

autorhino

Hi i am planning a model test photoshoot and want to uses UV light ..

I am a commercial photographer so i have access to lot of gear for traditional photographie .. visible light

From reading from you guys ... i realize i dont have any Camera, lens or even filter that are meant for uv

Since i am doing this more as am experiment i dont want to spend to much on this ...

So i am looking for a place that rents these equipements Lens, filter, camera ... preferably in Canada or if i can't find in canada... i would try to make it work with an USA rental compagnie...but that's not gonna be easy ..

Thanks

Alain

Only rental camera I know that is capable of UV is the Sigma SDQ from Lensrentals. They are located in the USA but will ship to Canada. The Sigma take 2 seconds to make UV capable by removing the dust filter inside the camera. Only downside is that its monochrome UV only using the Blue channel. But sensitivity in UVA is really strong. Also can be used for IR.

But Lensrentals also rents IR capable cameras converted from Nikon, Canon and Sony. Just not Full spectrum converted cameras.

What system do you currently use?

If its an Olympus Em1 or Em5mk2 and you have a Sigma 30mm f2.8 Art lens, you would just need a good filter.

I forgot to mention that Lensrentals also rents the amazing Costal optics 60mm Macro UV lens. But its only available in Nikon F mount and will not work on the Sigma. Which is sad. The 30mm f1.4 lens that comes with the SDq rental is not good for UV. I tested it.

I don't know of any place where you can rent UV filters.

Thanks Bateman for all that info ...

I use phaseone P digital back monted on a haselblad H body

I have a fuji gx680 with a lot of lens .. same digital back

And a canon 1dx with recent canon lens ..

I will test to see if any of this gear react to uv tomorrow ...( rented some mercury vapor blacklight ) trying to stay in the safe wavelength