UltravioletPhotography

UVIVF Possible Visible Light Leak?

cdhgamer

Hello all!

I'm still very new to this, but I've been working on UV induced fluorescence with a Convoy S2+ 365nm Nichia Led flashlight with a Hoya U-340 2mm filter, and a UVIVF photographer I follow mentioned all my shots were coming out with quite a blue/purple cast and I definitely agree with him.

I'm curious to hear what other people think and what might be the solution for any visible leak.

If it's a matter of getting a lens filter as well, as I know a lot of people use, could you please recommend a brand and model for the lens filter?

Nikon D810 / Tokina 100 mm Macro f/2.8 / Convoy S2+ 365nm w/ Hoya U-340 2mm

ISO 320 / f/11 / 4 s exposure. Temp 6500 / Tint 10 - Cloudy Setting

post-227-0-42722600-1550639671.jpg

ISO 400 / f/16 / 2 s exposure. Temp 7500 / Tint 10 - Shade Setting

post-227-0-79300200-1550639938.jpg

Spoon Test

ISO 500 / f/16 / 4 s exposure. Temp 5500 / Tint 10 - Daylight Setting

post-227-0-76703400-1550640054.jpg

Things to keep in mind:

1) If you are using U-340 2mm with Nichia 365nm LED, then there is no visual or IR light emitted. No violet or blue.

2) If your stock or full spectrum camera can see UV, then you need to filter the lens, with some kind of barrier filter that cuts just above 400nm.

The combination of #1 and #2 will keep any violet/blue leak from the LED out of the scene, and also keep any reflected UV from the scene from being seen by the camera.

Almost everything fluoresces, and violet/blue is quite common fluorescence from many object, paper, dust, even some black objects will fluoresce some small amount of blue,

in fact, it is a little hard to find things that don't emit some small amount of fluorescence. Be aware of that to start with.

What you are seeing is not visible violet blue, but it is in fact fluorescence.