UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from Portugal!

ACRosalino

Hello, everyone

I am an amateur astrophotographer from Portugal, born in the year of Apollo 8, who has been imaging deep-sky objects with specialized (mono & cooled) CCD cameras, using a variety of telescopes, both with "visual" filters (Luminance+RGB) and also "narrow band" filters (SII, Ha, OIII emissions).

While imaging deep-sky objects normally excludes IR and UV wavelengths, recently I have been intrigued by what can be achieved photographing more earthly subjects in this "invisible" part of the spectra, using consumer DSLR and mirrorless cameras.

Looking forward to learn from the vast experience shared in this "UV Photography" forum... and hoping to be able to start putting together a functional UV/IR imaging setup, soon!

Thank you all and

best wishes for the New Year of 2019 :-)

Antonio Rosalino

post-228-0-22638200-1546374289.jpg

post-228-0-18246200-1546374322.jpg

Thank you, Terry!

My UV/IR journey is just at the beginning, I am reading as much as I can, over here, so that I can start looking for the adequate equipment... so far, I believe I have secured one of the recommended "vintage" lenses and also a flash, to be modified - small, baby steps :-)

Antonio Rosalino

Thank you, Terry!

My UV/IR journey is just at the beginning, I am reading as much as I can, over here, so that I can start looking for the adequate equipment... so far, I believe I have secured one of the recommended "vintage" lenses and also a flash, to be modified - baby steps :-)

Antonio Rosalino

Well this forum is filled with info and very friendly and helpful individuals.

I just got a book by Adrian Davies called Digital Ultraviolet and Infrared Photography and although I haven't finished reading it yet, its filled with tons of info.

Filters (including flash filters) you get from Cadmium.