UltravioletPhotography

Flying a kite?

DaveO

This will probably not fly like a kite but go down like a lead balloon.

Do the anthers always come out UV-black. My impression is that they do but I haven't seen as many as the founders of this forum.

The allied question is - are they black because they contain UV absorbers, of which there are many to choose from in the vegetable kingdom. Then this leads to asking if pollinators can easily detect UV-black which they learn to use to orient themselves to the "goodies" that the flower offers.

I'm only a chemist so what would I know about such stuff?

So, is this what UV signatures are all about??

Dave :wacko:

Hi Dave,

If I understand the term anther correct, I'm not a botanist, it can include visible pollen.

If that is correct the answer to your first question is no. There are even UV-white reflecting pollen.

post-150-0-63104800-1545115201.png

post-150-0-63403400-1545115181.png

post-150-0-04994600-1545115153.png

post-150-0-71056900-1545115752.png

Hi Ulf,

Your shots, except perhaps the first one, show what I see on a lot of my UV shots of Australian native wildflowers. Dyer et al (Proc Roy Soc B (2012) 279 3606-3615) says we parted company with the other continental landmasses about 34 million years ago, so what we see that looks like your flora must be convergent evolution with a completely different suite of pollinators. Your images confirm what I'm trying to say, they all show UV-black centres so if an insect could zoom in on those in UV it would have found the location of the pollen and nectar. You have blue filaments supporting the anthers in some cases just like ours. Perhaps we could write some papers together, with Birna & Andrea if we could find a place to publish.

Dave

Thanks Steve.

They are just small cropped screenclips from my FastRawViewer without any special processing. No artistic intention at all. Just to show Dave the colors.