UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Denmark

TheMark

Hi

I'm a hobby photographer that are planing on venturing into UV / IR photographing

my plan is to convert my Nikon D800 to an UV+IR only camera (as I mostly take handheld photos)

by removing the AA, ICF and CFA and install a "DB395/870" / "Hoya U-330" / "SCHOTT UG11" filter on the sensor (to block visible light)

and then use either at UV or IR block filter in front of the lense to either take UV or IR photos, like the "Hoya HA30" or "Hoya Y50"

the main issue is trying to use 2 filters, that I will just end up blocking to much light to be able to use it handheld

where dedicating til to only UV or IR would probably be the better option as then I only need one filter "X-Nite 330" for UV or "X-Nite 830" for IR

also do any of you know if there exist any alternative to MaxMax in EU, so I can avoid all the problems with import/export tax

Mark Petersen

Welcome to UVP. I expect some of our members can point out the company that does modification in UK. Probably similar exists in Germany as well.

Do keep us informed about the progress of modifying your camera. I plan on converting my old D800 when my ordered Z cameras arrive in the near future.

So far I never have found a company in the EU that does CFA removal. ACS (advancedcameraservices.co.uk) in the UK only does UV & IR conversions. I once asked them if they remove the CFA as well but they don't.

Herman

Hello Mark and welcome to UVP! I hope you find the site useful and friendly. :)

That is in interesting plan for camera conversion. But I must ask, are you sure you might not want to simply make a full spectrum conversion given that you would be using two filters anyway? By making a full spectrum conversion, you have some freedom to experiment with more wavelengths than you would if you confine yourself to a U-330 or UG11. And you leave open the possibility of using just one dedicated UV-pass filter rather than a stack.