UltravioletPhotography

Fujifilm XF 27mm 2.8 Lens for UV...

D.Lafon

Hello everyone,

I have been using Fuji X-series cameras for about five years now, and I recently began experimenting with modifying some of the older and less expensive models for multispectral use. I have found that Fuji has a number of lenses that work wonderfully for infrared photography, including their newer 35mm f/2 and 50mm f/2 compact and weather resistant lenses. While the Fujifilm 27mm f/2.8 lens is one of my favorites for visible light photography due to its sharpness and compact size, it is not so good for infrared imaging due to a pronounced hotspot. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the Fuji 27mm f2.8 lens seems to do very well for ultraviolet photographs. Here are two quick experimental shots, taken hand held and without bothering to set a pleasing white balance or composition. The weather was partly sunny, and the first photo was taken in a shaded location on the north side of my house. First photo was taken at ISO6400, f/2.8, and 0.25 seconds, and the second photo is at ISO 1600, f/8, and 4 seconds with my arms braced against a sturdy object. I used a 2" Baader U filter over the lens, and it was affixed to an X-T10 camera converted to full spectrum by removing the internal cover glass, and installing a 1mm thick piece of Borofloat glass. I really am pleased to find an auto focus option for UV imaging, especially one that works on some of my favorite cameras, and I look forward to experimenting further with this set up.

Thank you,

D. Lafon

post-4-0-70939700-1516678916.jpg

post-4-0-78246100-1516678643.jpg

It seems to have good sharpness. Have you checked the bandpass in any way?

How did you avoid getting dichroic ring artifacts with the Baader filter? My own efforts with this filter have been plagued by those.