UltravioletPhotography

Botanical z-stacking in UV

Daniel Geiger

Daniel Geiger

Greetings,

I am curator of malacology (study of mollusks) at the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History in California, where I am also in charge of the scanning electron microscopy facility. I have a secondary interest in systematics and evolution of a tropical orchid genus (Oberonia) and am a Visiting Research Scholar with the Huntington Botanical Garden - Botany in San Marino (Los Angeles), California. For the latter, I am interested in fine structure of minute 1-5 mm flowers, and given the different cell surface sculptures, I wonder whether there are any UV patterns for potential pollinators. I have been fiddling with this for a couple of months now. I have gotten UV z-stacking to work; plan on posting a method later.

UV equipment currently is a Canon 5D mark II full spectrum, Nikkor EL 80/5.6 (old, not N), Canon MP-E 65 mm (works, but 10x lower transmission than Nikkor), 2" Baader U Venus, 5W 365 nm LED flashlight.

Questions currently include:

- Spectral distribution of LED UV sources? Too narrow to make false color images possible?

- Looking into modifying flash for UV flash. As far as I understand, old-cheap is better for UV. Any particularly good/cheap ones? PC triggering no problem. Should withstand repeat triggering (20-100 shots, typically) at 1-2s interval, reasonable consistency in light output. Should I add a UG11 in front of flash, or is Baader U on lens enough?

- False color UV: possible with Baader U or do I need some visible light component (UG 5-type filters)?

- Channel swapping vs channel mixing: the latter seems to do the same thing, but much easier. Am I missing something?

- Anybody tried a Paul Buff Einstein 640 for UV? Possible?

Other imaging equipment is varied:

ArcaSwiss 4x5 kit from 72 - 720 mm

Canon 5DsR mainly with Zeiss primes, Cognisys Stackshot

Zeiss Discovery V20 mot Stereomicroscope with Axiocam HRc, a couple of planapos.