UltravioletPhotography

White Balance in ACR vs Photo Ninja

Andrea B.

Does anyone know why ACR does not "properly" white balance UV files?

This photo was made in sunlight with a D600-broadband + Soligor 35/3.5 + BaaderU UV-Pass filter.

Converted in ACR. White balance dropper applied.

600_4030_WB_in_ACR.jpg

Converted in Photo Ninja. White balance dropper applied.

600_4046pn.jpg

ACR doesn't do a very good job of white balancing IR either, that is why we used CNX2, and now Ninja.

ACR can be edited to have camera profiles, which supposedly will make it white balance IR and UV shots better, but I have no experience with that.

Andrea, whereabouts in the image did you apply the white balance dropper?

The YouTube video quoted shows the use of a Colour Checker Passport for creating a custom profile but I thought the grey scale on this system was not good for UV radiation, or have I got that wrong?

What grey targets do people use? I looked at the Spectralon ones, but they are very expensive (unless anyone knows a cheaper source for them). I have bought a roll of grey PTFE tape, and have wrapped several layers of that around a glass block, which seems to do a reasonable job. Any other ideas for a good grey target for balancing UV images please?

Also, can I ask Andrea if your Soligor 35mm lens needs a large focus correction - I have one of them and it is very difficult to focus in UV!

Thank you

Adrian Davies

Adrian, I tried applying the ACR white-balance dropper at various places in the photograph. My general experience has been that if you white-click a magenta area you get very close to the "usual" UV white balance in a UV-supportive converter. ACR is not a UV-supportive converter.

I use calibrated Labsphere Spectralon diffuse reflective standards for setting white balance in UV, Vis or IR. Usually I shoot the two which reflect at 99% and 75% evenly throughout the UV, Visible and Infrared regions.