UltravioletPhotography

Hello!

hmillner

Hello to everyone...

I am new to UV and became interested through some research when i found that flowers I was studying had strong reactions under UV torches.

So, I am now trying to study nectar guides in small (<1cm) orchid flowers which up till now i have been researching via focus stacking macrophotography.

If anyone is interested - i can post one or two pics.

At the moment I am trying to get some basic equipment together, I already have an El-nikkor 50mm 2.8 lens, bellows and adaptor rings.

The next thing i really need is a camera for adapting to UV

I intend to buy a Nikon DSLR second hand, but want to make I buy a suitable model to start with.

My main concern is getting images that are high defintion, so for this reason I have been looking at the D3200 model. This has 24 megapixels and live view, which is necessary for me.

Any suggestions?

Many thanks in advance

Helen

Hello Helen and welcome to our website. We hope you enjoy it!

Bjørn and I have a strong interest in botanical UV-signatures and would enjoy seeing your work. We have both an informal UV section and a formal botanical section for posting such work. Or there is the Techniques & Tests section for initial experiments.

One of the 24-megapixel cameras would be very good for detail work. Sony or Nikon or Panasonic models have all been used successfully.

One consideration for you is how your EL Nikkor 50/2.8 and your camera of choice get along.

• First: Each lens and each camera have a flange focal distance which must match for infinity focus capability. Given that you will work close-up and on bellows, this ability to focus at a long distance is most likely much less important to you.