UltravioletPhotography

Hi, everyone!

Andy Perrin

Hi, all. I’ve been lurking on your extremely helpful forum here for a year or so. I'm 37, American, and I have a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering, in computational fluid mechanics. I’m a near beginner in photography generally — I’ve never owned an SLR (though I’ve used one), and my current UV setup is a self-modified Nikkon CoolPix E995 with the IR blocker removed according to the instructions on Life Pixel, with an 18mm 330WB70 filter from Omega Optical that I got on eBay.

I’ve also made several infrared- and UV-enabled iPhone 4’s by replacing the backplate of the phone with ones containing an embedded piece of Hoya RM-72 and UV 12.5mm filters from Omega. Aside from those, I do landscape thermography using my FLIR cameras (and a lot of Photoshop).

I'm mainly interested in photographing landscapes and buildings overall, although in UV I've done the usual flowers (who hasn't?).

My experimental goals are to photograph in as many different spectral bands as I can afford, and also to get into computational imaging, hyperspectral imaging, and light field photography. I have a cheap Lytro that I plan to modify at some point for UV, if it's possible to do so.

--

Some pics! (All have been extensively postprocessed in Photoshop and other programs.)

With the CoolPix E995 and 330WB70 (I think this is Potentilla Reptans L., but with the frankly terrifying amount of botanical knowledge floating about on this site, I'd rather not be too dogmatic about that!):

post-94-0-90158300-1451942977.jpg

post-94-0-18600700-1451943112.jpg

Welcome. I look forward to seeing more landscape work. The Lytro conversion sounds like quite a challenge, as I do not know if the microlenses transmit UV very well. OTOH, a plenoptic flower macro in UV would be something formidable indeed.