UltravioletPhotography

Botany undergrad from California

kylenessen

Hello!

My name is Kyle and I'm very pleased to be joining this community. As stated in the title, I am an undergraduate student at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo pursuing botany and its relevant ecology. I work closely with two of the botany professors here and their graduate students. Unwittingly, I've become the resident "expert" in UV photography, which is in large part thanks to the knowledge shared here. I, by no means, consider myself an expert however and welcome greatly a community where I can ask for help in overcoming the innumerable stumbling blocks this field can present.

I've recently started exploring multispectral imaging with the help of this useful plugin for ImageJ (Image Analysis Tools). It allows for objective reflectance measurements and can also correct for differences in sensitivities for other animals. I have only scratched the surface and use it primarily to combine UV images with the visible. Below is a recent picture of Lupinus succulentus where I've combined green, blue and UV. In order to "translate" bee vision to our own, I left blue and green as they are in order to preserve the overlap but assigned the UV channel to our red sensitivities. I later selectively adjusted the red channel to appear more purple for clarity.

Producing these images have opened up a number of ecological questions that I would like to explore using this technology, but help is needed to get to a point where my images are suitable for science. I look forward to any feedback on my own work and that of the software I use. I also hope to prove to be some use to the community as well.

Cheers,

Kyle

post-86-0-37739200-1445480575.jpg

Welcome to UVP Kyle, the Image Analysis Tool looks interesting, & the video is fantastic.

Another you might find useful is WaveLengthPro, WavelengthPro

Daniel there is very helpful.

Cheers

Col