UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from Calgary

A Stranger In The Wind

A Stranger In The Wind

I have had an interest in extreme photography for many years. My definition of extreme photography is anything not normal shooting such as Color IR, B&W IR, Digital IR, UV, Long exposures, full spectrum, light painting. Though I do a lot of normal photography.

Years ago I started shooting Kodak's Color Infrared Slide with a Canon F-1, I enjoyed it so much much when I took a course on Scenic and Wildlife I shot my entire final project with it.

Next I tried Kodak's Black and White IR film and later experimented with dr5 processes of shooting various B&W film that would be developed as a B&W slide using their suggested settings. For my Closeup and Macro course my final presentation once again was a slide presentation I had slides from Kodak and Fuji colour slide film as well as EIR Colour Infrared slide, Scala B&W slide, and Kodak HEI, Rollei IR-400, Kodak B&W and Ilford B&W that were developed as a slide via the dr5 process.

To this day the instructor of those courses and I remain in contact and when he introduces me to other instructors that I am about to take a course from he warns them I don't follow the norm.

Next I tried shooting UV with Kodak's HEI film regretfully that was the time when Kodak stopped making it. I then discovered Bjorn's site. I managed to get the 105mmUV lens and a Nikon to Canon FD adapter. I experimented with Tungsten slide film.

My first foray into Digital UV was with the Nikon D70s later replaced with the Fujifilm S3 UV-IR. I added the Nikon Series E 28,35,50,75-150 and 70-210 based on the comments on Bjorn's site. Of those only the 28 remains. I also added the Coastal Optics 60.

I became acquainted with Klaus and got my UG 11x from him to replace the Nikon UV filter. Now I use the current Baeder UV filter.