UltravioletPhotography

The King's Oak and other UV impressions

I'm fortunate to live on the outskirts of Oslo, capital of Norway, where rural nature and deep forests are immediately accessible almost everywhere.

Yesterday I had a break from the daily chores to visit Maridalen, the nearest valley only a few km away, and aiming for some of the (to me) familiar sights there. I started shooting UV dandelions sprouting from mediaeval ruins of the Margaretha church (approx. 1200 AD), the structure that gave the district its name far back in time.

Thereafter, I continued to the landmark Kongeeika (The King's Oak). This is a large four-stemmed Summer Oak, which is set in an open rural landscape so can be seen far away, and now protected by law. Oaks - of any size - are rare in this region. Nobody to my knowledge has carried out a dendrochronologic study, but as these oaks were mentioned in early 16th century writings as being 'huge', it surely must go back nearly a thousand years and perhaps even more. Folklore has it that one of the Viking kings held court underneath its spreading boughs, hence the name.

I have shot Kongeeika numerous times and it's always an appealing challenge to come up with fresh footage of such a frequently visited subject. This time I used my Nikon D3200 (modified with built-in Baader U 2" filter courtesy Vivek Iyer) and my Nikkor 18 mm f/4 AI. The 18 mm doesn't cut deep into UV, but nonetheless its UV transmission suffices to give a nice UV character to the captures.

This was in the afternoon with late sunlight raking across the landscape and making the gnarled bark appear even more wrinkled and old. I did the first take with the camera hand-held at 10 seconds exposures. Not a winner in terms of sharpness, but not bad either.

UVP_King's_Oak_Hand_held_10 secs_B1505082316.jpg

However, as the little red car was nearby, so was my tripod, thus the next frame using tripod support shows what the 18 mm is capable of in UV.